Skip to main content

Cottonwood Heights Journal

Celebration delayed, yet Canyons administrators lauded with state PTA awards

Sep 21, 2020 11:47AM ● By Julie Slama

Chip Watts, who has been Midvale Elementary principal and is Draper Park Middle’s new principal, received the Utah PTA outstanding school administrator award. (Photo courtesy of Canyons School District)

By Julie Slama | [email protected]

There wasn’t a banquet, an awards ceremony or big celebration—but it may yet happen.

Canyons School District has reason to celebrate as two of the district’s principals received Utah PTA’s outstanding school administrator awards.

“I received an email toward the end of the school year; it was a complete surprise,” said award-winner Marilyn Williams, who is Sandy’s Willow Canyon Elementary principal. “I’m so grateful for the PTA to nominate me. It’s an honor to be recognized.”

Williams also received the Best of State Principal award, something that was shared with the district community. That celebration, planned for July 15, was canceled in response to the social distancing and large group guidelines of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“It’s meant a lot that parents know I’m looking out for the children, their needs and offer the very best to them,” she said.

Also in Canyons District is outstanding school administrator Chip Watts, who as principal the past five years at Midvale Elementary, was able to direct the staff and faculty in getting the school off the turnaround status. Last year, he was honored with Canyons School District’s APEX administrator of the year.

This fall, he will become principal at Draper Park Middle School.

The district had two other winners: Melanie Ferguson, advocacy award for radKIDS, Sunrise Elementary and Melody Richardson, outstanding volunteer, Peruvian Park Elementary.

Other area winners are Shawn McLeod, outstanding school administrator, South Jordan Middle School; Adrian Ramjoue, outstanding educator, Riverton High; Mike Okumura, outstanding educator, Longview Elementary in Murray; Ray Barton, outstanding educator, Olympus High School in Holladay; Jolylnne Ward, spirit of inclusivity award for Golden Gate Club, Bingham High in South Jordan; Hillary Moser, involvement award for Veterans Day parade and flag ceremony, Westland Elementary in West Jordan; Linda Clapier, outstanding support staff, Skyline High School in Salt Lake City; Corey Peterson, outstanding support staff, McMillan Elementary in Murray; Kris Dockstader, outstanding volunteer, Eastwood Elementary in Salt Lake City; Benjamin Garcia, outstanding volunteer, Beehive Elementary in Salt Lake City; and Sarah Brown, outstanding volunteer, Westland Elementary.