Skip to main content

Cottonwood Heights Journal

Utah Students Win Capitol Exhibit

Mar 06, 2015 10:25AM ● By Bridget James

Alyssa Bowman of Olympus High School took first place in the Utah Senate Art Scholarship Competition with her watercolor art piece titled, “Capitol Hill.”

Why would Utah High School students be honored on the senate floor during the 2015 legislative session?  To be recognized by the senators who represent them for their beautiful renditions of the Utah State Capitol and in celebration of the arts. 

One hundred-ninety-five of Utah’s High School students participated in the Utah Senate Art Scholarship Competition sponsored by Senate President Wayne Niederhauser. 

“The idea came from President Niederhauser’s office in an effort to challenge Utah’s students to view the world artistically and express their creativity by using the capitol as a subject,” Laura Durham, Utah Division of Arts and Museums marketing and communications manager said. 

Given the theme: “Celebration of Utah’s beautiful capitol building and in salute to the Utah legislature working on behalf of Utah’s citizens,” students were asked to create original, two-dimensional images of the Utah State Capitol using only these items: oil, pen, ink, watercolor, printmaking, graphic design and digital drawing. 

Local Olympus High student Alyssa Bowman took first place to receive a $5,000 scholarship. Her painting of the capitol will hang in the Utah Senate suite on Capitol Hill.

The remaining winners were:

2nd Place:
North Sanpete School District
North Sanpete High School 
Keena Kleven
$3,000 scholarship

3rd Place:
Salt Lake City School District 
West High School 
Chloe Kauffman
$1,000 scholarship

Fourth—10th places received $500.  Awards of $300 went to 11th-25th places. The scholarships were in the form of Utah Education Savings Plan accounts.

Arts Day on the Hill is administered by the Utah Cultural Alliance and is filled with creating art, entertainment and a place for Utah’s arts communities to get to know their elected legislators. This is the first year this scholarship competition has been held.